top of page

It was the best of times...

I saw something awesome today. I was at the Capitol (naturally), in the House gallery (of course) and it was full of people. Some teachers, but a lot of new faces. I believe it was parents and students! FILLING the gallery. I can only assume it was the same in the Senate. It was wonderful!!! We really have passed the torch!

I'll be back in my classroom tomorrow. In a way, I'm excited, but I also know that it begins another paragraph in this story where I am now juggling the campaign, my job, lobbying, family, and rest/self-care. I can do it! I will do it!

See, something you may not know about me is that I will do what I need to do to achieve my goals. Obviously, I work within my moral guidelines as to how far I'll go. I wouldn't, for instance, rob a store just to complete my Rubik's Cube collection. I wouldn't neglect feeding my child so I can instead buy the next iteration of Assassin's Creed (although I must admit I have delayed the cooking of dinner to finish DMing an online game of D&D).

Did I mention I'm a nerd?

My new obsession is this campaign, so I know that if it's possible for me to win, I will. But on this, I cannot go it alone. I have to have help. So this is my call to arms!

There are many of you who believe in me and what I can accomplish in the Senate. I also know how many of you who are just as out of time and money as I am. I need to ask those of you who have one dollar or one hour left over at the end of the day - can you help?

I have made a lot of phone calls over the past few days, asking people I know and love to donate to my campaign. It's really awkward because I know how much everyone is hurting right now. I've never been much of a hard sell - I do better at selling a product than I do asking for donations. But the fact of the matter is that a campaign cannot succeed without it. So if I ask you for a donation, please remember where my heart is and try not to get frustrated. If you can't afford it, just tell me. It won't hurt my feelings and I'll feel better knowing you can tell me the truth without it getting weird. :-)

Having said that, if you can afford it - even $5 - or if you can help me knock doors, or talk to your neighbors that need a good suggestion on which candidates to be looking into, or anything that helps this cause, please do it! I have a long road ahead. I know I'm capable of seeing this through, but I can't do it alone.

I also know that the other guy has a head start and WAY more money. This is going to be grass roots. But there is strength in numbers, and together, we can convince the voters of SD24 to vote for kindness, empathy, and change instead of the same, old, "proven" thing.

You've seen me post this everywhere lately, and I hope you will spread it around:



bottom of page